We Weren’t Crazy

we headed out to California
everybody tried to warn us
said we wouldn’t make it any further
than that worn out Chevy would

we broke down a time or two
thought “maybe we didn’t think it through”
we were all we had to turn to
when it wasn’t looking good

we’re looking back laughing
cause they called us crazy

just a couple kids a couple years ago
now we gotta a couple kids of our own
we turned out right, proved them wrong
look at us going strong

we were young, we were wild, we were restless
had to go, had to fly, had to get away
took a chance on that feeling
we were loving blind, borderline reckless
we were living for the minute we were spinning in
maybe we were a lot of things
but we weren’t crazy

could’ve set it down when things got tough
could’ve walked away from this love
but that’d be crazy…

[[song by Josh Gracin]]

I’m feeling sentimental tonight.  Forgive me for reflecting, but here’s some photos for your time 🙂

first year of dating 2006

early morning kisses 2007

spending time together 2007

boot camp graduation 2008

Mr. & Mrs. 2008

first homecoming 2009

Christmas 2010

pre-deployment 2011

Miramar Air Show 2011

Christmas 2011

life in Washington 2012

4 year wedding anniversary 2012

now 🙂

it’s been a long journey, but I wouldn’t want to have gone down this road with anyone else.  every day is an effort to make this marriage, this life, work.  but it’s worth every ounce of that effort.  I couldn’t imagine my world without him in it.  he makes me unbelievably happy.  I still get the same butterflies in my stomach when I see him after being apart for a little bit or longer.  he still makes me knees weak, I still see fireworks when we kiss.  I feel like we’ve lived a lifetime together already.  we’ve dealt with more in our 6 years together than some deal with in double that time.  I’m proud of how far we’ve come. we weren’t crazy no matter what everyone else thought back when we were so young.  back when our lives revolved around a LEGO store.  I know most of my friends thought I was insane for dating a high school boy while in college, but I just knew.  I knew then and I still know now.  he’s my lobster :).

Leave a Reply

