Can I Sum It All Up?

Challenge Accepted :).

So with leave over officially, life is slowly turning back to normal.  Rich officially went back to work on Friday, but he got off at 10:30 and went out to lunch with the guys and then came home.  And then it was the weekend.  So really, TODAY feels like the first day after leave.  He only wanted to go back on Friday so he didn’t have to be charged for Saturday and Sunday leave [so stupid how that’s set up o.O].

The kids and I are having a lazy morning.  We need it.  Cartoons, snacks, playtime, etc.  The kids are currently zoned out in a Wonder Pets episode, so I thought I’d take a breather and see what I could type up.  Later today, I need to get the laundry going and start some small clean up.  My house is clean [my father in law came to visit and we had a babysitter Saturday night, so I had to clean at least the down stairs ;)], but there are some parts of my house [like the master bath] that need to be cleaned still.

I think I’ll talk about leave as a whole and then do separate blog posts for each big event so this post doesn’t get too wordy.

What did we do while my husband was on leave?  Let me list 🙂

  • County Fair was the BIG thing we did
  • a bunch of trips to the mall for the play area for the kids!
  • a visit from my Father in Law
  • a date night for our anniversary [and got ink’d ;)]
  • a date night to a roller derby!
  • a ton of time at home with Daddy!

When we went into the leave period we had a HUGE list of things we wanted to do.  And about Wednesday or Thursday of the first week of his leave we talked it out.  We realized this is the first time he’s been on leave and we are not A: coming off a deployment, B: getting ready for a deployment, or C: visiting family back home.  We don’t HAVE to run ourselves ragged.  We can just relax and take our time.  My husband got a ton of video game time in, I got to workout in the middle of the morning while the kids were awake, we both slept in, we both relaxed, we watched a bunch of TV, played board games together, etc.  So it was a nice relaxing leave and I’m glad we didn’t push ourselves to do more.

That being said, a few of the things on our list will become Saturday trips now, which works.  It’ll be busier I’m sure, but we’ll be fine.  One of the items :: the Bug Museum :: is now planned to time up with my homeschooling lesson we’re going through!  More on that later.

So that’s our leave in a nutshell.  I’m glad to get back to normal.  I miss having my husband home already, but the kids are so much more relaxed in the morning when it’s just me home, that it’s nice.  And I love my one on one kid time I get.

My husband’s schedule is also about to change.  He most likely is going to have crappier hours, so I think he took leave at a great time to get us ready for him to be gone more again.

I’ll elaborate more on everything with photos in a bit, but to some up leave the best, I think this photo will do::

Image

2 thoughts on “Can I Sum It All Up?

Leave a Reply

